Boscombe Suite Boscombe

Andrew McCutchion and Paul Hawkins started The Music Room workshops in the summer of 2012; a music/sound based project in partnership with arts charity Vita Nova. These workshops proved very popular and extended through 2013.
In October Vita Nova were commissioned by the Co-op to compose a piece of music with the local community and perform it.
Andrew took on the delivery of this commission and The Music Room Band, made up of whoever is available to meet on a Wednesday morning 10.30 – 12.30 at The Friends Meeting House 16 Warncliffe Road Boscombe Bournemouth, BH5 1AH.
They were set 10 weeks to complete the project.
Bristol based poet Sarer Scotthorne was commissioned by community storytelling project Untold Boscombe to produce a film of the Boscombe area and the film was agreed to be used as a prompt and the soundtrack to become the composition piece.
This project came to fruition on December 13th, with its premiere screening and live performance of the soundtrack at a Vita Nova Scratch Night
The gig was at The Friends Meeting House Boscombe BH5 1AH. The event was recorded and filmed by David Nock/Red Onion Digital.

This is the film with the live recording from the premiere.

The project was made possible by the following musicians, artists, poets, film-maker and local community organisations;

Vita Nova
The Co-op
Sidemen Productions
Untold Boscombe
Boscombe Bangfonia
The Friends Meeting House

Sarer Scotthorne – film maker

The Music Room Band
Andrew McCutchion – lead composer, musical director and piano
Paul Hawkins – co-composer, musical co-director, technical director, acoustic bass guitar and percussion
Scott Lavene – co-composer and guitar
Sharon Fee – co-composer, vocals, percussion and music box
Gemma Alldred – co-composer and vocals
Paul Fee – co-composer, ukelele and percussion
Stephen Pearson – co-composer, drums and percussion
Roy Humby – co-composer, technical co-director and support
Libby Bellhouse – co-composer, vocals, percussion and shopping trolley
John Lee – co-composer and acoustic guitar

thanks also to Jane Cartwright, Simon Humby, Kyle Nutley, Geordie Dave Walker, Simon Bull and the generous community of Boscombe.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: